Dec. 04

CoolCanucks Blog Contest ~ Putumayo 2 CD Pack Review & Giveaway!! **CLOSED**

about-image1

 

We enjoy cel­e­brat­ing every hol­i­day at my house, espe­cially Christmas.

Christ­mas time holds a spe­cial time in my heart, and I get a cer­tain ‘feel­ing’ every year dur­ing that time — like excite­ment, or absolute happiness!

It’s cer­tainly a feel­ing that I wish we could hold all year round.

Year after year we all dig out the Christ­mas dec­o­ra­tions and gather round to dec­o­rate. While dec­o­rat­ing and bak­ing, we play spe­cial Christ­mas music that brings good mem­o­ries, laugh­ter, and cheer to our hearts and souls.

It’s the same Christ­mas music year after year, until this year when we dis­cov­ered Putu­mayo on the internet!

After being asked to do a review for Putu­mayo, I was ecsta­tic and could not wait until the CD’s arrived!

The kids tore into them before I could even see what they looked like, and the next thing you know, they were danc­ing hap­pily to the CD called “Putu­mayo
Presents A Fam­ily Christmas”

The songlist includes the following:

1. Santa Claus is Com­ing to Town — Johnny Bre­gar 
2. Holly Jolly Christ­mas — Mar­tin Sex­ton 
3. Is Zat You Santa Claus? — Big Bad Voodoo Daddy 
4. Let it Snow — Leon Red­bone 
5. Win­ter Won­der­land — Deana Carter 
6. Sleigh Ride — Sam Bush 
7. Here We Come A-Wassailing — Kate Rusby 
8. Jolly Old St. Nick — Brave Combo 
9. Mele Kaliki­maka — Deb­bie Davis & Matt Per­rine 
10. Boo­gie Woo­gie Santa Claus — The Christ­mas Jug Band fea­tur­ing Angela Strehli and Maria Mul­daur 
11. Frosty the Snow­man — Lars Ede­gran and his Santa Claus Rev­el­ers fea­tur­ing Big Al Car­son 

What an extremely excit­ing and tal­ented bunch of musicians!

About Putu­mayo

“Putu­mayo World Music was estab­lished to intro­duce peo­ple to the music of the world’s cul­tures. The label grew out of Putu­mayo cloth­ing com­pany, founded by Dan Stor­per in 1975 and sold in 1997. Co-founder Michael Kraus joined Stor­per to help launch Putu­mayo World Music in 1993. In the past fif­teen years, the label has become known pri­mar­ily for its upbeat and melodic com­pi­la­tions of great inter­na­tional music char­ac­ter­ized by the company’s motto: “guar­an­teed to make you feel good!”

Putumayo’s CD cov­ers fea­ture the dis­tinc­tive art of Nicola Heindl, whose col­or­ful, folk­loric style rep­re­sents one of Putumayo’s goals: to con­nect the tra­di­tional to the con­tem­po­rary. By com­bin­ing appeal­ing music and visu­als with cre­ative retail mar­ket­ing, Putu­mayo has devel­oped a unique brand iden­tity, a rar­ity in today’s artist-based music industry.

Putu­mayo is con­sid­ered a pio­neer and leader in devel­op­ing the non-traditional mar­ket. A large por­tion of its tar­get audi­ence con­sists of “Cul­tural Cre­atives,” a soci­o­log­i­cal and lifestyle term for 50 mil­lion North Amer­i­cans and mil­lions more around the world with an inter­est in cul­ture, travel and the arts. To reach these con­sumers, Putu­mayo has built a pro­pri­etary net­work of more than 3,000 book, gift, cloth­ing, cof­fee and other spe­cialty retail­ers in the US and thou­sands more inter­na­tion­ally that play and sell its CDs, in addi­tion to main­tain­ing a strong pres­ence in record stores.

Dan Storper’s vision of estab­lish­ing a global com­pany and lifestyle brand is being fur­thered by CD dis­tri­b­u­tion in more than 100 coun­tries. The open­ing of Putu­mayo Europe, in Hil­ver­sum, Hol­land in 2000 enabled the com­pany to con­nect with the Euro­pean music and retail scene. As of March 2008, the Putu­mayo Europe office was re-located to Weesp, Hol­land, near Ams­ter­dam.  The expan­sion of Putu­mayo Inter­na­tional has also extended the label’s pres­ence in South Amer­ica, Asia, Africa and Ocea­nia. The com­pany now has offices in 15 coun­tries around the world.

about-image2
The Putu­mayo Kids divi­sion was cre­ated to intro­duce chil­dren to other cul­tures through fun, upbeat world music. Since the release of the best-selling World Play­ground CD in 1999, Putu­mayo Kids has estab­lished itself as one of the lead­ing children’s record labels in the world, win­ning crit­i­cal acclaim and hon­ors from Par­ents’ Choice Awards, the National Par­ent­ing Pub­li­ca­tions Asso­ci­a­tion and oth­ers. With its grow­ing col­lec­tion of albums and mul­ti­cul­tural activ­ity kits, Putu­mayo Kids pro­vides chil­dren with upbeat, melodic and cul­tur­ally authen­tic music, enhanced by edu­ca­tional liner notes.

Putu­mayo also launched the Putu­mayo World Music Hour in 2000.  The first commercially-syndicated world music radio show, it is now heard inter­na­tion­ally on more than 170 com­mer­cial and non-commercial stations.

Peri­od­i­cally, Putu­mayo presents the­matic tours in con­junc­tion with its CD releases. Acoustic Africa, a CD and suc­cess­ful inter­na­tional tour in 2006 fea­tured Habib Koité, Vusi Mahlasela and Dobet Gna­horé. Putu­mayo Kids pro­duced two the­matic tours (Ani­mal Play­ground and Reg­gae Play­ground) in 2006 and 2007 fea­tur­ing Trinida­dian artist Asheba.

The company’s com­mit­ment to help­ing com­mu­ni­ties in the coun­tries where the music orig­i­nates has led to the label con­tribut­ing more than $1 mil­lion dol­lars to worth­while non-profit orga­ni­za­tions around the world. Char­i­ta­ble recip­i­ents include Cof­fee Kids, Oxfam, Mercy Corps, Amnesty Inter­na­tional and many more.

 

As inter­na­tional mar­kets and con­sumer aware­ness of world music grow, Putu­mayo con­tin­ues to develop cre­ative ways to present excit­ing music from around the world that is under­ex­posed in the main­stream media. Please con­tinue to visit our web­site for more infor­ma­tion, news and updates on Putu­mayo World Music, its releases and events. ”

Like all Putu­mayo record­ings, this CD encour­ages kids to learn about dif­fer­ent cul­tures and styles of music. Putu­mayo CDs are guar­an­teed to make you feel good. If you don’t fully enjoy a Putu­mayo CD, you can return it to them with your receipt for a full refund.

My over­all impres­sion of “Putu­mayo Presents a Fam­ily Christ­mas” is that it is out­stand­ing! Extremely catchy, extremely tal­ented, and it draws you right in!

You will find your­self singing along with your chil­dren! It is that amazing!!

Other Christ­mas CD’s that you may like by Putu­mayo are:

A Jazz & Blues Christmas

New Orleans Christmas

And Christ­mas Around The World

Although I did not have the oppor­tu­nity to review these other Christ­mas Cd’s, I will be sure to order them now as I just know by lis­ten­ing to A Fam­ily Christ­mas that the other’s will be just as won­der­ful! The kids and I are now hooked on Putumayo!!

I also had the plea­sure of review­ing another CD by Putu­mayo called “Jazz Around The World” which was another hit here!  This one show­cases the pow­er­ful influ­ence of jazz on musi­cians across the globe. Fea­tur­ing both well estab­lished and newer artists per­form­ing extra­or­di­nary cov­ers and orig­i­nals, this col­lec­tion incor­po­rates a wide range of rhythms, instru­ments and melodies into a con­stantly evolv­ing genre.

The songlist includes:

1. La Mer 
2. Quiéreme Mucho 
3. Don­alina 
4. Chan Chan 
5. Young and Naïve 
6. J’Aime Mon Lit 
7. Polka Dot Bles 
8. Te Reo O Pap­at­u­anuku 
9. Sum­mer­time at Bamako 
10. Des­ti­nos 
11. Open the Door

This CD is also very catchy and I know that you will enjoy these CD’s by Putu­mayo just as much as our fam­ily does!

The kind and gen­er­ous folks would like to offer one Lucky Cool­Canuck Reader to win both of these awe­some CD’s too!

  

 

To enter:

 

*Head on over to Putu­mayo and let me know some­thing which you’ve learned about them!

 

*You MUST ALSO SUBSCRIBE to Cool­Canucks Blog (right hand-side) via email! (You must ver­ify the sub­scrip­tion in your email too, as I will check!) Leave me which email addy you sub­scribed with in your comment!

 
*And thirdly for any entries to count, fol­low Cool­Canucks Via Google Friend Connect!!

 
————->The Above is MANDATORY before any extra entries count. <—————

 

EXTRA ENTRIES: (Optional, these are there for you just in case you would like more chances of winning!!)

 

Fol­low @coolcanucks  and @PutumayoMusic on Twit­ter! Leave me your twit­ter name!

 

Tweet this con­test link­ing to @coolcanucks and @PutumayoMusic ! Leave me the Sta­tus Link to your tweet! *Do this ONLY MAXIMUM of ONCE a day, and leave a com­ment each time with the Tweet Sta­tus Link*

 

 Become a Reg­is­tered Cool­Canucks Mem­ber in our forum and leave me your user­name there!

 

Blog, Stum­ble, Digg or share this give­away on any open pub­lic forum and leave me the link to it! +5, leave 5 comments

 

Grab our Cool­Canucks but­ton located to the right of the blog. +5, leave 5 comments

 
Sub­scribe to Cool­Canucks RSS Feed! + 2 leave 2 comments

 
Refer a friend to Cool­Canucks Forum – do not sign your­self up and cheat, I can check IP’s! Tell me who the refer­ral is, and earn 10 extra entries at once!

 
Pur­chase any­thing from Putu­mayo 
for the dura­tion of the give­away
and get 10 extra entries!! Just tell me in a comment!

 

**Give­away open to both Canada & US and expires on Decem­ber 15th, 2009**

 

A HUGE thank you to Putu­mayo for spon­sor­ing us with this GREAT Con­test here at CoolCanucks!!

 

 

 

 

Con­grats to #55
 

cheryl h
Decem­ber 15th, 2009 at 1:59 pm

Sub­scriber to Cool­Canucks RSS Feed

entry #1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

» 57 Responses to “CoolCanucks Blog Contest ~ Putumayo 2 CD Pack Review & Giveaway!! **CLOSED**”

    1
  1. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    First off, I have to say the album cov­ers are beau­ti­ful, which leads me to what I learned… “Putumayo’s CD cov­ers fea­ture the dis­tinc­tive art of Nicola Heindl, whose col­or­ful, folk­loric style rep­re­sents one of Putumayo’s goals: to con­nect the tra­di­tional to the con­tem­po­rary.” how interesting!!

  2. 2
  3. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I fol­low you on twit­ter (LisaSVance)

  4. 3
  5. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I fol­low @putamayomusic on twit­ter (lisasvance)

  6. 4
  7. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I’m a forum Mem­ber (LisaSVance)

  8. 5
  9. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    RSS Feed Sub­scriber #1

  10. 6
  11. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    RSS Feed Sub­scriber #2

  12. 7
  13. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I sub­scribe via email

  14. 8
  15. Lisa Vance
    December 4th, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    i’m a friend with google blogger

  16. 9
  17. Paula
    December 4th, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I learned that my daugh­ter loves to dance to it!

  18. 10
  19. Paula
    December 4th, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    For­got to men­tion that I sub­scribe to emails (pjk­mitchell at hot­mail dot com) and am a fol­lower with google friend connect!

    As an addi­tional entry, I am a forum mem­ber as emmysmum

  20. 11
  21. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    1. I learned that more than 3 mil­lion Putu­mayo Kids CDs have been sold around the world

    2. I sub­scribe to your blog by email

    stephy905@hotmail.com

    3. I fol­low you via google friend con­nect — stephy905

  22. 12
  23. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I fol­low you both on twit­ter — stephy905

  24. 13
  25. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6375010282

  26. 14
  27. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I’m a mem­ber of Cool­Canucks — stephy905

  28. 15
  29. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I blogged your give­away #1

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/2009/12/putamayo-2-cd-pack-giveaway.html

  30. 16
  31. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I blogged your give­away #2

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/2009/12/putamayo-2-cd-pack-giveaway.html

  32. 17
  33. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I blogged your give­away #3

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/2009/12/putamayo-2-cd-pack-giveaway.html

  34. 18
  35. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I blogged your give­away #4

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/2009/12/putamayo-2-cd-pack-giveaway.html

  36. 19
  37. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I blogged your give­away #5

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/2009/12/putamayo-2-cd-pack-giveaway.html

  38. 20
  39. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I grabbed your but­ton #1

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/

  40. 21
  41. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I grabbed your but­ton #2

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/

  42. 22
  43. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I grabbed your but­ton #3

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/

  44. 23
  45. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I grabbed your but­ton #4

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/

  46. 24
  47. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I grabbed your but­ton #5

    http://stephanie-laplante.blogspot.com/

  48. 25
  49. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I sub­scribe to your RSS Feed #1

  50. 26
  51. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 5th, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I sub­scribe to your RSS Feed #2

  52. 27
  53. Tommy
    December 6th, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Brows­ing their web­site, I learned that peri­od­i­cally Putu­mayo presents the­matic tours in con­junc­tion with its CD releases. :)

  54. 28
  55. Tommy
    December 6th, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I sub­scribe to Cool­Canucks blog via email.

  56. 29
  57. Tommy
    December 6th, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I fol­low Cool­Canucks via Google Friend Connect.

  58. 30
  59. Tommy
    December 6th, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I’m a Cool­Canucks forum mem­ber.. tommygunn.

  60. 31
  61. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 6th, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6403424940

  62. 32
  63. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 7th, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6431137633

  64. 33
  65. Tanis
    December 8th, 2009 at 11:36 am

    To be hon­est, I have never heard of Puty­mayo World Music before and I was happy to see con­tribute to many non-profit orga­ni­za­tions! Very cool!! :) The music sounds awe­some too, I love new and dif­fer­ent Christ­mas music!

    I sub­scribe to the Cool­Canucks blog through e-mail (same as the required one) and I fol­low Cool­Canucks through Google­Con­nect (tanandjosh).

  66. 34
  67. Tanis
    December 8th, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I am now a reg­is­tered mem­ber of the forum (Tan­nie), thank you!

  68. 35
  69. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 9th, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6502905493

  70. 36
  71. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 10th, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6533513642

  72. 37
  73. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 11th, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6571228895

  74. 38
  75. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 12th, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6605954460

  76. 39
  77. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 13th, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6633350150

  78. 40
  79. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I fol­low Cool­Canucks and Putu­may­oMu­sic on Twit­ter — @tannieschatter!!

  80. 41
  81. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I grabbed the Cool­Canucks but­ton #1 http://www.tannieschatter.blogspot.com/

  82. 42
  83. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I grabbed the Cool­Canucks but­ton #2 http://www.tannieschatter.blogspot.com/

  84. 43
  85. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I grabbed the Cool­Canucks but­ton #3 http://www.tannieschatter.blogspot.com/

  86. 44
  87. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I grabbed the Cool­Canucks but­ton #4 http://www.tannieschatter.blogspot.com/

  88. 45
  89. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I grabbed the Cool­Canucks but­ton #5 http://www.tannieschatter.blogspot.com/

  90. 46
  91. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I sub­scribe to your RSS Feed #1

  92. 47
  93. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I sub­scribe to your RSS Feed #2

  94. 48
  95. Tanis
    December 14th, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/tannieschatter/status/6671429120

  96. 49
  97. Stephanie LaPlante
    December 15th, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Daily Tweet

    http://twitter.com/stephy905/statuses/6697159404

  98. 50
  99. CoolCanucks Blog Contests ~ List Of Current Contests On The CC Blog. Enter Now For Your Chance To Win!!
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    […] Putu­mayo 2 CD Pack Review & Giveaway!! […]

  100. 51
  101. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    I learned that Putu­mayo Kids has con­tributed to many non-profits doing good work in regions where the music orig­i­nates. For the past years, Putu­mayo Kids has focused its non-profit efforts on var­i­ous local as well as inter­na­tional NGOs work­ing in dif­fer­ent parts of the world. We intend to keep on sup­port­ing these orga­ni­za­tions and other spe­cific NGOs work­ing in the coun­tries where the music orig­i­nates. We are pleased to sup­port the fol­low­ing char­i­ta­ble organizations.

    Axé Project
    Euro­pean Fed­er­a­tion for Street Chil­dren
    Gen­e­sis Foun­da­tion
    Jamaica Basic Schools Foun­da­tion
    Louisiana Children’s Museum
    Nex­tAid
    Par­ents and Chil­dren Together
    Vit­a­min Angels
    Wildlife Con­ser­va­tion Soci­ety
    World­wide Orphans Foundation

    SUBSCRIBER to Cool­Canucks Blog

    I fol­low Cool­Canucks Via Google Friend Con­nect
    (cherdon)

  102. 52
  103. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I Fol­low @coolcanucks and @PutumayoMusic on Twitter

    user­name is iamcherdon

  104. 53
  105. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    I tweeted

    http://twitter.com/iamcherdon/status/6704446385

  106. 54
  107. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Reg­is­tered Cool­Canucks Mem­ber in your forum

    user­name is cherdon

  108. 55
  109. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Sub­scriber to Cool­Canucks RSS Feed

    entry #1

  110. 56
  111. cheryl h
    December 15th, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Sub­scriber to Cool­Canucks RSS Feed

    entry #2

  112. 57
  113. Small Footprints
    December 15th, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I learned that they also sell books … I didn’t know that … I thought they only sold music. I also found out that they donate to non-profit char­i­ties. They are a remark­able company!

    I sub­scribe through email (my addy is reduce­foot­prints (at) gmail (dot) com.

    I fol­low through google friend connect.

    Thanks!